Word of Encouragement – 11th June 2024

CO003 – Sargotha

Grace, Hope & Peace, Friend;

After a man, who had been lame from birth, was healed through Peter, he entered the temple with them, walking and leaping and praising God. Watching him, the crowd recognized him as the beggar who used to sit at the temple gate begging for alms, and were amazed and gathered around them as he clung to Peter and John. (Acts 3:1-11)

But when Peter saw this, he replied to the people, “Men of Israel, why are you amazed at this, or why are you staring at us, as though by our own power or godliness we had made him walk?”

Acts 3:12

In the ‘Sermon on the Mount,’ Jesus had warned His followers not to practice their righteousness in order to be noticed by others. (Matthew 6:1 & 16) And later, He pointed out to a crowd – including His followers – that the scribes and Pharisees do all their deeds to be noticed by other people. (Matthew 23:5)

Why do we do the things we do? Is it to glorify God? Or are we looking for recognition and praise from people?

I admit, I sometimes wrestle with this. Am I writing to be recognized? Sure, I appreciate people letting me know they were encouraged; Or when they retweet or boost my posts to social media; but if that is WHY I write, Jesus said, “Their recognition is all the reward I will get.” (Matthew 6:16) And Paul wrote, “Whatever you do, do all things for the glory of God.” (1 Corinthians 10:31)

Like David, every morning, I have to dedicate my reading to God,

Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in Your sight, O Lord, my rock and my Redeemer.

Psalm 19:14

Then I let His Spirit guide my thoughts. This morning, I was prompted by Peter’s question; “Why are you staring at us?

Melech HaKavod – King of Glory – may my life bring You glory and praise.

For the sake of God’s church, I will encourage her.

Psalm 122:9 (Adapted)

Give God all the glory,

Leave a comment