Word of Encouragement – 21st June 2024

Burning Heart – Circa 1975

Grace, Hope & Peace, Friend;

After king Saul proved himself to be unworthy of the position God had placed him in, Samuel rebuked him and said, “You have acted foolishly! You have not kept the commandment of the Lord your God. God would have established your lineage over Israel forever. But now your kingdom shall not endure. The Lord has sought for Himself a man after His own heart, and the Lord has appointed him ruler over His people, because you have not kept what the Lord commanded you.” (1 Samuel 13:13-14)

Centuries later, Saul (also known as Paul) urged by the officials of the synagogue in Pisidian Antioch, to bring a ‘word of exhortation‘, reminded the congregation of David’s selection;

After He had removed him (King Saul), He raised up David to be their king, concerning whom He also testified and said, “I have found David, the son of Jesse, a man after My heart, who will do all My will.”

Acts 13:22

God called David, “A man after My heart.” Did God not know David would take Uriah’s wife then have Uriah killed? Of course He did! But God saw in David the ‘desire’ to do God’s will. I wonder if that was a source of encouragement to Paul; God had ‘found’ him, in the middle of his rampage against believers, and raised him up to be a missionary!

Like David, Paul was not selected because he was ‘good enough’ nor because he would be perfect. (See Romans 7) God chose Paul because He knew his heart. Misguided though it was, Paul’s persecution against Christians was out of a desire to uphold to God’s will. When he met Jesus on the road to Damascus, his desire was refocused.

Does God see that desire, to serve Him, in me?

Eloah Selichot – God of Forgiveness – You know my weakness and you know my desire to honor You. Help me do Your will.

I have heard your prayer, I have seen your tears; behold, I am going to heal you.

2 Kings 20:5d-f

What’s your desire?

Leave a comment