Word of Encouragement – 14th Apr 2024

The Stream from the Hill at Ika, Nigeria – Dec 2014

Grace, Hope & Peace, Friend;

Jesus summoned His twelve disciples and sent them out, in pairs, with authority over unclean spirits. (Mark 6:7) Luke’s account tells us He sent them to, “Proclaim the kingdom of God and to perform healing.” (Luke 9:2) But then Jesus gave them instructions that may seem counter-productive to us;

He instructed them that they were to take nothing for their journey, except a mere staff – no bread, no bag, no money in their belt.

Mark 6:8

Only a walking stick!

Does this contradict what Jesus said about “counting the cost” and “being prepared?” (Luke 14:28-32) No, Luke reaffirms what Jesus said in Mark! The context of the passage in Luke is, “None of you can be My disciple who does not give up all his own possessions.” (Luke 14:33)

We are to rely on God for all our needs! That was part of Jesus’ ‘Sermon on the mount!‘ – “Do not worry about tomorrow” – “Your heavenly Father knows what you need. Follow Him and He will provide.” (Matthew 6:25-34)

But why a staff? A staff helps you navigate rugged terrain – it keeps you from falling when you stumble, and you can lean on it when you are weary. I think the picture Jesus is giving us is, “Go out and preach the gospel to all creation (Mark 16:15) and remember what I have taught you; I will always be with you (Matthew 28:20) – I am your staff.

What have I to dread, what have I to fear, leaning on the everlasting arms?
I have blessed peace with my Lord so near, leaning on the everlasting arms.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EJ5cLiCCOao

E. A. Hoffman (1887)

Yahweh-Jireh – the Lord will provide – Help me trust Yor promise to provide everything I need.

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I fear no evil, for You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

Psalm 23:4

Lean on Jesus,

Leave a comment