Word of Encouragement – 18th May 2024

PA048 – Transparent #2 – Before & After

Grace, Hope & Peace, Friend;

Do we give people credit for things they wanted to do, but couldn’t for one reason or another? Saying things like, “She meant well,” “At least he tried,” or “It’s the thought that counts.” Maybe they didn’t have the strength or resources; Or maybe the person they wanted to do something for stopped them!

After Solomon finished the building of the temple in Jerusalem, he gathered all the people together to dedicate it to God. Addressing the congregation, he said,

It was in the heart of my father David to build a house for the name of the Lord, the God of Israel.

1 Kings 8:17

After David had built his own palace, he wanted to honor God by building a temple, but God stopped him. (1 Chronicles 17:1-15) Does David deserve credit for WANTING to build the temple? Solomon continued,

The Lord said to my father David, “Because it was in your heart to build a house for My name, you did well that it was in your heart.

1 Kings 8:18

It’s the thought that counts.” God recognized David for what he ‘wanted’ to do even though God stopped him.

What was David’s attitude after God stopped him? He could have become bitter and abandoned the idea! Instead he said, “I will make preparations for it.So David made ample preparations before his death. (1 Chronicles 22:2-5)

What about us? Do we become bitter or discouraged when we are prevented from doing something we think will honor God? Or do we accept God is sovereign and adjust our plans to His perfect plan? (Jeremiah 29:11)

One of the last times I sat with my Dad, he expressed regrets that he didn’t have more opportunities to share the gospel! 88 years serving God in Nigeria and he regretted his time was ending! I imagine, when he arrived in God’s presence, he was greeted with, “Well done, good and faithful servant. You were faithful.” (Matthew 25:21)

In his prayer of dedication, Solomon said, “You alone know the hearts of ALL mankind.” (1 Kings 8:39) And God is “able to judge the thoughts and intentions of the heart.” (Hebrews 4:12)

Yahweh-HaRibbon – Lord, only sovereign – help me be faithful in what You have planned for me.

I will try to walk a blameless path, but how I need your help, especially in my own home, where I long to act as I should.

Psalm 101:2 (TLB)

God knows your intentions,

Leave a comment